One Month In

It has now been over a month since I opened my shop on Etsy. I still feel like I have no idea what I’m doing, but from what I’ve read, that seems to be pretty normal. I’ve actually been doing A LOT of reading lately, both on blogs (like Handmadeology and Everything Etsy) and on the Etsy website itself (Seller’s Handbook, Team Discussions). All the information is a bit overwhelming but I’m really glad it’s out there and available.

Handwoven red and black scarf
A sneak peek at the new listing I’m working on.

Probably one of the most useful things I’ve done this month is join teams on Etsy. I’m on the Etsy Success team, Etselry team (Ravelry’s Etsy Team), two SEO and Stats teams, and the local artisan team. So far people have been super helpful and most of the questions I’ve had have already been answered in the discussions. I also created a shop account for Pinterest (here if you want to check it out) as a social media/marketing experiment. I don’t have many followers yet but I think I’ve only had the account for two weeks. All of that, plus trying to get everything listed and some new things made, has meant a very busy first month.

As for month #2, I have 2 big goals. The first is to have over 50 items listed in my store (which will definitely take me longer than a month to do). The second is to learn about and improve the SEO of my listings. Both seem to be crucial to getting noticed and making sales. I’m also thinking of creating a shop Instagram account for marketing, but we’ll see. If I do, I will definitely let you guys know.

One thought on “One Month In

Leave a Reply

