February Garden Update

Happy February!

It’s a new month, though there’s not much change in the garden department. The Thanksgiving cactus looks like it’s going to bloom soon, which would be exciting.

Pink flower buds on a Thanksgiving Cactus

The lime tree seems to be a bit confused by the whole concept of winter and has started growing again. It’s almost 2 ft tall now! It has a new branch with the cutest tiny leaves on it. If it is this happy in the winter I can’t wait to see how it reacts when summer rolls around!

Baby Branch on Key Lime Tree

As for the rest of my photosynthesizing friends (ivy, rosemary, and African violet) they’re all holding steady.

We had a bout of warm weather last week, which was such a tease. I sat outside on my deck and looked through seed catalogues, dreaming of spring. I’m still a bit unsure of how much space I’ll actually have to garden in this year (the community I live in still hasn’t settled on what the restrictions are), but I may have found a community garden with available plots about half a mile away. If all goes well, I’ll get a plot there and not have to worry about what the HOA decides.

This year I’d like to grow:

Vegetables (culinarily speaking)
Tomatoes
Carrots
Spinach
Kale
Zucchini/Squash
Beets
Garlic
Beans (both green and soup varieties)

Fruit
White Soul Alpine Strawberries

Herbs
Basil
Dill
Lemonbalm
Sage
Rosemary
Thyme
Oregano
Mint

Flowers
Flax
Marigolds
Sunflowers
Poppy
Calendula
Lavender (Planted this Fall)
Roses (Planted this Fall)
Chrysanthemums (Planted this Fall)

Now whether I have space or time for all of these is still to be determined, but a girl can dream right?

What are you planning on planting this year?

Busy Bee notebook with gold bee and blue cover
My new garden notebook!
One thought on “February Garden Update

Leave a Reply

