Latkes, Latkes, Good to Eat

… Cook me up a Hanukkah treat!

Holidays seem to be times for traditions. My favorite Hanukkah “tradition” of sorts is latkes. I LOVE latkes. Every year at Hanukkah, for as long as I can remember there have been latkes at Hanukkah. When I was young, my sister and I were in charge of shredding the potatoes. When I got old enough, frying the latkes became my job. I must admit I’m not a huge fan of the spattering oil, but the perks of being the cook (first dibs on the latkes) were definitely worth it. Hanukkah wouldn’t be Hanukkah without latkes (or watching the old VHS of Lamb Chop’s Chanukah Special and playing dreidel with my sister).

Wooden Dreidel on table

Fortunately the latke recipe of my youth didn’t require much modification to meet my current food allergy requirements. Below is the modified recipe.

Crunchy Potato Latkes

4 medium white or red potatoes, about 4 cups
1 medium onion, about ½ cup diced (optional)
2 tsp salt
3 egg whites (if you can use whole eggs, use 2 whole eggs)
2 TBSP potato flour (If gluten is not an issue you can use regular flour)
½ c oil for frying (I like olive oil or canola oil, but any neutral oil will work)

  1. Peel potatoes and cut into large pieces.
  2. Shred potatoes in a food processor with the medium shredder[1][2]. Remove shredded potatoes and drain excess liquid.
  3. Dice[3]
  4. In a bowl, mix together shredded potatoes, salt, egg whites, potato flour, and onions.
  5. Heat 2 TBSP of oil in a frying pan. Spoon latke batter into pan, fry on one side until brown around the edges. Flip and fry on other side. Add more oil as needed. Drain on a paper towel and serve[4][5].

Notes:

[1] If you don’t have a food processor you can use a cheese grater, but be warned, this takes forever.

[2] For an easy shortcut I sometimes use bags of Simply Potatoes hash browns instead of shredding the potatoes myself. It really cuts down on the time and doesn’t seem to affect the finished latke texture at all.

[3] If you don’t want big chunks of onion in your latkes you can mince or process the onion in a food processor. I have also used onion powder when I haven’t had any onions on hand.

[4] If you aren’t serving the latkes immediately they can be kept warm in the oven. They also reheat nicely for lunch the next day.

[5] My favorite way to have latkes is with applesauce. Sour cream is also popular.

2 thoughts on “Latkes, Latkes, Good to Eat

    1. They are pretty tasty, and go well with hearty stews as a bread substitute. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were in Martha Stewart, though I’m sure hers look better than mine would. The food in her magazines always looks perfect. Today is latke day in my house so hopefully I’ll have some pictures of mine to share soon. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

