Miso Happy

(Cheesy title, I know. I couldn’t resist.)

So, in case you hadn’t heard, South River Miso Company makes gluten-free, soy-free miso and tamari. You know what that means right? It means that they make miso and tamari that I can have! You know what’s even better? The miso and tamari are REALLY REALLY GOOD! Like incredibly, amazingly good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I discovered South River a few years ago when I found their chickpea miso in a Natural Grocers. The one jar I bought lasted me quite a while and I had to leave it in Florida with my grandparents when I moved. This made me really sad since I was miso-less once again and miso is oddly enough one of my comfort foods. I hadn’t had any luck finding a replacement jar in local stores so I decided to order directly from South River, which yes, normal customers can do. I got their Chickpea miso, Azuki Bean miso, and their Chickpea tamari. I haven’t tried the Azuki Bean miso yet, but the Chickpea miso is excellent as before and the tamari is one of the best I’ve ever had, ever.

South River currently has ten varieties of miso (find them here). In addition to the Chickpea and Azuki Bean miso, they also have a Garlic Red Pepper miso that is gluten and soy-free. If gluten is not an issue, but soy is, you’ll be able to have their Chickpea Barley miso. If gluten is an issue but soy isn’t, you have eight misos to choose from. They make their miso in small batches in the traditional way, and I’ve heard only good things about all of their varieties. If you want fantastic miso, South River Miso Company is definitely worth checking out.

If you’re interested in how they make the miso (It’s really cool), here are a few videos:

 

Leave a Reply

