Allergen-Friendly Thanksgiving

Allergy Friendly Thanksgiving Dinner

I’ve talked about my food allergies and what types of things I eat on this blog before, and since Thanksgiving is this week I thought I’d share some of my favorite Thanksgiving appropriate recipes from around the internet.

Meat

Roast Turkey Breast from Martha Stewart – A turkey is a lot of meat and I find that a turkey breast is much more appropriate for only one or two people.

Kittencal’s Moist Oven Roasted Turkey Breast from Food.com – Another good roast turkey breast recipe. I use olive oil instead of butter when I make this recipe.

Quick Turkey Gravy from The Kitchn – I use this recipe and substitute grapeseed oil for the fat and millet flour for wheat flour and the gravy turns out well. Either that, or if I have enough liquid in the bottom of the pan, I just add some cornstarch or arrowroot starch to thicken and use that as a gravy.

Sides

Crescent Rolls from Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom

Drop Biscuits from Not Missing a Thing

Allergy Free Mashed Potatoes from Eating With Food Allergies

Acorn Squash with Cranberry Apple Stuffing from Elana’s Pantry

Cinnamon Ginger Butternut Squash from Sweet Potato Soul

Dessert

No-Bake Pumpkin Pie Filling from Lexie’s Kitchen. – When I want pumpkin pie I make this filling and put it in a pie crust from The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook by Cybele Pascal.

Vegan Pumpkin Custard from Food Fitness Fresh Air – Sometimes a whole pumpkin pie is too much for me to eat before it goes bad. If I don’t have guests I’ll make this custard instead (I halve the recipe). It tastes like pumpkin pie and makes enough that I can have some for breakfast the next day but not so much I’m eating it all week.

5 thoughts on “Allergen-Friendly Thanksgiving

  1. Share Joys Project - Joy Journey 2 Health

    Hi!

    I am also following an allergen-free dietary lifestyle. I am abstaining 100% from eggs and dairy and doing the best I can to stay clear of all yeast (95%+). While not mentioned much on my blogk, I am also allergic to kidney beans and green beans, and possibly other legumes to a lesser degree or intolerant of them.

    I also avoid food intolerances such as flour foods, wheat/gluten, as well as added sugar or sweeteners, on most occasions, and definitely steer clear of nightshades with the most concern with chili peppers as I get insomnia and anxiety/panic feelings with them while the others it is primarily digestive in nature.

    It is refreshing to encounter another person who has food allergens to deal with. It makes me feel a bit more connected this way.

    I am posting recipes as I revise old favorites and discover new ones through initiative, creativity, or resourcing. I look forward to what I learn from your blog! 🙂

    Be well,

    Joy in Eugene, OR

    Like

    1. Hi Joy!

      Thank you for the comment! I’m sorry to hear about your food allergies; you have some tough ones to deal with. You certainly aren’t alone with the multiple food allergens. I can’t wait to see what you come up with on your blog. Since sometimes starting from scratch when modifying a recipe can sometimes be tedious and/or time-consuming, here are some of my favorite allergen-friendly food resources:

      Cookbooks:
      The Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook – by Alissa Segersten and Tom Malterre
      The Allergen-Fee Baker’s Handbook – by Cybele Pascal

      Blogs I have the best luck finding recipes that require little or no modifications on:
      http://www.edibleperspective.com
      http://www.sondibruner.com
      http://elanaspantry.com

      If you haven’t encountered them already, they’re worth a look. I’d love to know what your favorite cooking resources are! Multiple allergens just makes food that much more of an adventure.

      Best,
      Jen

      Like

      1. Share Joys! Project

        Hi Jen,

        I just received your reply, so sorry for the delay. The resources are familiar and I have been on this journey for a while now, long before being aware of a need for a strict allergen-free protocol or steering clear of food intolerances too. With that said, I stick to a whole foods diet and use creativity and experience to guide me much of the time, along with what food resources I currently have on hand.

        I personally enjoy vegan, paleo, and soup recipes – all of which are free of dairy, eggs, and flours/yeasts/sweeteners for my personal needs.

        I have some of my own recipes on my blog and will add more at least once per week, if not more, at times. In the meantime, I will brainstorm some of the blogs and web sites I appreciate their recipes for my unique use (and others like me). Stay posted because I will likely blog about it when I do.

        You are so lovely to suggest these sites to me and I feel honored to be gifted of your time and thoughtfulness.

        With kindest wishes,

        Joy in Eugene, OR

        Like

        1. Hi Joy,

          No worries about a delay. I’d love to see a post of your favorite blogs and websites! I’m always looking for new places to get recipes and ideas from and it looks like we enjoy similar types of food (I love soup!). Maybe one day I’ll have enough experience with allergen-free cooking that I’ll feel comfortable creating my own recipes like you do. Until then I’ll continue to enjoy following those that others have created and modified.

          Wishing you a happy and tasty new year,
          Jen

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Share JOYS! Project / Joy Journey 2 Health

            Hi Jen,

            Your question about my favorite recipe blogs for allergen-friendly foods has me ponding on that a bit. Nightshade free foods are a challenge for me now as I find it fairly easy to eat whole food homemade recipes without dairy, eggs, or gluten- all easy enough without flour of any kind or added sugars/sweets/leavening (for me, anyhow). With that said, removing nightshades is a new venture for me and those are my current challenge. Hence, the new recipe, recently, with Coconut No Curry Soup on my blog. It was one of my favorites and I managed to figure out how to make it still irresistibly yummy, nourishing, warming, and have the flavors I loved!

            On a similar note, I have managed to save a number of Italian recipes that are naturally nightshade free or that I can adapt, and they are free of dairy/eggs, or I can adapt them that way. Since my heritage is from Sicily, and I was raised an Italian-American, these are the foods I miss being on diet safe from food allergies. I will be sure and post about this soon! 🙂

            Thank you for the thought provoking question!

            Enjoy your day, as always,

            Joy

            Like

Leave a Reply

