Way Behind Schedule

Turquoise and black knitting

I had hoped to open my Etsy shop in October. Clearly that didn’t happen. I’ve kind of accepted that I grossly underestimated the amount of time it’d take me to set up a shop and I’m now hoping to open next fall. Doesn’t mean I haven’t been working on things for it though.

First and probably the most important thing I’ve been working on is organizing my notes and patterns and paperwork for the shop. I put together a binder with little dividers to help me keep track of things. Right now there isn’t really much to keep track of, but I’m sure it’ll come in handy later.

I also made a handful of the Mario Bomb toys in preparation for opening shop, when I thought I was going to open shop before the holidays. This made me realize that building an inventory is going to take a lot longer than I originally though (sensing a theme here?). I wonder how much of an inventory I really need to have when I open shop.

After I made the Bombs I decided to do a little market research. This consisted of asking my facebook friends just how much they would pay for something like the toy. To be honest the answers were kind of discouraging. If I priced things so my friends would buy them, I would barely cover the cost of materials. This has made me reconsider who my target buyer is.

My favorite part of the whole process so far has been designing things, so naturally that’s where I’ve made the most progress. I have a new cowl design, 3 new toys, 2 new baby blankets (and 3 more that are still to be tried out), a shawl, a wrap, a hat and a tiny acorn “box” in addition to the designs I previously told you about.

I really enjoy making up designs and seeing them come to be. There’s something so rewarding about having an idea in your head and being able to take that idea and make the thing exactly like you imagined it. It’s not something that I’ve experienced too often before and it makes everything fun.

I’ve been working to make a few more ideas, mostly baby blankets, realities over winter break. That and taking pictures of things, because in writing this post I realize I haven’t been very good about taking product photos, and that’s something I need to learn how to do if I hope to sell anything.

Leave a Reply

