Terrific Trail Mix

Fruit and Seed Trail mix

My little sister is the best at finding new foods I can have. Half a year ago, she showed up with this excellent coconut spread by Earth Balance.  Last month, after a Target run, she showed up at my apartment with a bag of trail mix by Enjoy Life and said, “I think you can have this”. After reading the ingredients, I promptly opened the bag and downed half of it in one sitting. It was delicious.

Now trail mix had been largely missing from my life since I learned of my food sensitivities because most mixes contained of peanuts and milk chocolate. The closest I had come to eating trail mix was mixing toasted almonds, Enjoy Life chocolate chunks, and cherries in a bag as a snack. Yes, I know I could have made my own trail mix before, it would have required effort to figure out what I wanted in it and frankly, I’m lazy.

After obtaining and consuming four bags of this delicious mix of seeds and fruit in the span of about two weeks, it occurred to me that I could, and should, probably be making it myself. The ingredients were simple and ones I could find easily at the grocery store, and I could modify the ratios of things to be more the way I wanted, namely more chocolate and none of the weird dried apple cube things (not a fan of the texture).

After eating my last bag, and craving trail-mixy goodness I hit up my local Whole Foods, and left with about 2 lbs of pumpkin seeds, 2 lbs of sunflower seeds, cranberries, raisins, and lots of chocolate. The checkout people were a little confused as to why I was getting so many seeds. (Just as a side note, Whole Foods really nails it with their prepared food section. I found 5 different hot dishes that I could eat even with my numerous restrictions.)

Once I got home I toasted the seeds until they smelled done (each oven is different so I don’t really use a recipe) and let them cool. Then I poured everything into a couple of bowls, mixed it up, and tah-da! My very own trail mix!

Bottle of trail mix ready for the fridge.

Here are the ratios I used:

2 cups Lightly Toasted Sunflower Seeds

2 cups Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

1 cup Cranberries (I used apple juice sweetened ones)

1 cup Raisins

1 cup Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips

Dash of salt

I ended up making a lot of trail mix.
I ended up making a lot of trail mix.

I ended up tripling the recipes since I had about 6 cups of each the sunflower seeds and the pumpkin seeds (my eyes were a bit bigger than my stomach at the store). I’m storing the trail mix in the fridge so the seeds don’t go rancid, and to repay my sister for introducing me to the mix in the first place, I’m sharing what I made with her.

If you don’t feel like making your own trail mix, you can always buy it here.

One thought on “Terrific Trail Mix

Leave a Reply

