Sick Food

Part of my Chronic Fatigue Syndrome manifests as a semi-functioning immune system, meaning I get sick quite a lot. The school year is a disaster for me. It seems that I get sick after every break (Summer, Autumn, Thanksgiving, Winter, and Spring) and around finals. Last semester it got so bad that I missed a month of classes and seriously considered wearing a surgical mask around campus, which is really serious for me since I hate those things; they make me claustrophobic. I’m sick quite a bit, not even counting the times when my intestines decide they don’t like food (happens more than it should).

While I’m still working on my avoiding illness tactics (if you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them in the comments), I am discovering a good bunch of “sick” foods, or foods that I like to eat when I feel sick. I figured that I’d share some of them in case you’re in search of your own “sick” foods. Lots of times I make these foods when I’m feeling well and freeze them for later.

For the common cold I make sure to drink lots of liquids, usually in the form of water or green tea with lemon and honey. The green tea helps the sore throats that usually accompany my colds. I also LOVE soups.

Middle Eastern Lentil Soup with Pomegranate Syrup from Project Foodie – This is my absolutely favorite soup to make. It’s delicious and has become somewhat of a comfort food. I can’t explain it, but it always makes me feel better.

Caldo Xochitl from Budget Bytes – This is like chicken soup with a kick, which is great when I have a stuffed up nose. It’s easy to make and tastes amazing. I like adding corn to mine and eating it with copious amounts of tortilla chips, lime juice, and cilantro.

Chicken Soup – I don’t have a recipe for this because I make a different version every time. Common ingredients include yellow onion, celery, carrots, noodles/rice/rice noodles, chicken broth, salt, pepper, and chicken if I have it on hand. Sometimes I want a traditional flavor and other times I go for a more Asian vibe and add ginger, garlic, and sesame oil.

When I’m feeling nauseated I eat blander foods:

Arroz Caldo from Kitchen Confidante – This is currently my favorite thing to eat when I have an upset stomach. It’s simple, easy to make (especially if you follow the weekday version), and bland enough not to upset my stomach without being boring. It also has ginger and garlic, two of my favorite spices. Sometimes I make it without the chicken if I’m really in a rush or don’t feel like messing with chicken.

Sweet Potato Soup from Blissfully Domestic – This soup tastes like Thanksgiving. It’s loaded with all sorts of good veggies and isn’t overly spicy (especially if you omit the cayenne pepper).

Golden Potato Soup for the Sensitive Soul from Gluten-Free Goddess – This is such a comforting soup. It reminds me of the potato soup my mom used to make when I was a kid (which I can no longer eat since it has milk in it). This recipe is easy to make and I omit the chilies in this recipe when I feel sick.

Low and Slow Sweet Potatoes from Edible Perspective – Again with the sweet potatoes. My body seems to like them even when it doesn’t want anything else. This recipe is fantastic, and I make it all the time. I absolutely love it!

I also drink ginger tea with lemon and honey to settle my stomach. I like Yogi Ginger Tea a lot. If I’m not in the mood for ginger tea, I’ll sometimes have peppermint tea (Yogi as well) or ginger ale.

There you have it, some of my favorite foods to eat when I’m not feeling so well. Hopefully you don’t feel unwell anytime soon, but should you find yourself in a less than healthy state, perhaps you will try one of these recipes and feel better!

Leave a Reply

